13 Halloween Reads That Won’t (Completely!) Scare Your Socks Off

halloweenmoon

I’ll admit it – I’m not much for horror, or freakishly terrifying tales. I can’t take a lot of gore and violence either. But that doesn’t mean I don’t love a well-told tale with mystery, intrigue, adventure, danger and suspense. Who doesn’t?

And during this spooky time of year, I start wanting to break out some of my favorites, from quirky fantasies to suspenseful murders, and everything between.

So I put together a list of books that I recommend for those of you who, like me, would love a book or two to get you in the Halloween mood without completely scaring your socks off!

I chose some new ones and some olds ones. Some popular ones and some lesser-known ones. Some adult ones and some MG/YA ones. Take your pick and enjoy!

  1. The Witches (Roald Dahl)halloweenowl
  2. Reckless (Cornelia Funke)
  3. Coraline (Neil Gaiman)
  4. The Magician’s Nephew (C.S. Lewis)
  5. On the Night of the Seventh Moon (Victoria Holt)
  6. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (J.K. Rowling)
  7. Fablehaven (Brandon Mull)
  8. Hallowe’en Party (Agatha Christie)
  9. Dracula (Bram Stoker)
  10. The Night Circus (Erin Morgenstern)
  11. My Cousin Rachel (Daphne du Maurier)
  12. A Tale Dark and Grim (Adam Gidwitz)
  13. Shadows (Robin McKinley)

Which of your favorites would you add to the list?

I’ll also be posting a flash fiction story (by yours truly!) on Halloween day – so keep your eyes peeled!

About AshleeW

Reader and writer of fairytales and fantasy, walker in the woods, studier of people, believer of mercy and peace, mother, wife and child of God.

Posted on October 24, 2013, in books, fantasy, Halloween, Spooky and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. DRACULA is definitely the best vampire novel ever written. Several times while reading it, I got so woozy that I had to put my head down until the faintness passed. Talk about evocative writing!

    Great picks. I haven’t read everything on this list, but I loved those I have read. Interested to pick up Robin McKinley’s new book . . .

Leave a Reply

Nathan Lumbatis

Exploring Faith Through Fantasy

Savvy Writers & e-Books online

Writing & Publishing, e-Books & Book Marketing

The New Authors Fellowship

For unpublished authors. By unpublished authors.

Worthy 2 Read

"Whatever is worthy . . ." Phil. 4:8

Loyal Books Blog

Indepth Children's Book Reviews from a Christian Mom's Perspective

The Story Sanctuary

Teen book reviews from a Christian world-view.

Fairy Tale Fanatic

Food, Fairy Tales, and Consumption.

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Rewrite, Reword, Rework

Rebecca LuElla Miller's editing tips and services

I am a mermaid

A delicate, ladylike blog for mermaids and the humans who love them

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Daniel Whyte IV

Writer. Student. Web Developer. Radio Producer.

Lisen Minetti

A Work in Progress

Druid Life

Pagan reflections from a Druid author - life, community, inspiration, health, hope, and radical change

